Become An ATSWA Student

The Accounting Technicians Scheme West Africa (ATSWA) programme is designed to produce middle level Accounting Technicians within the West African sub-region.

The objectives are to:

provide a recognised qualification for the accounting and auditing staff employed in the public sector, industry, commerce and in various offices or practicing accountants
help meet the need for middle level accounting personnel in the economy especially for the accounting and finance departments of various government agencies and corporations.

The ATSWA syllabus is divided into 3 parts and each part consists of four (4) subjects.

AAT Certificate is awarded upon successfully completing the Accounting Technicians Scheme of West Africa (ATSWA) Examinations.

The duration for the completion of the 3 level examination is a minimum of 15 months for those with ordinary level certificate and 6to12 months for those with higher certificate but not a degree certificate. The examination takes place twice a year i.e. March and September.

Courses under ATSWA are:


1. Basic Accounting Processes & Systems (BAPS)

2. Communication Skills

3. Economics

4. Business law


1. Principles & Practice of Financial Accounting (PPFA)

2. Public Sector Accounting (PSA)

3. Qualitative Analysis

4. Information Technology


1. Preparing Tax Computation and Returns

2. Cost Accounting

3. Principles of Auditing

4. Management

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *